Hinton Ampner

Travelling down the M3 there are of course plenty of service stations. But why stop there when just a few minutes off the motorway you can be surrounded by gorgeous countryisde and relax in a quintessentially English country garden. Hinton Ampner can offer a lovely afternoon escape.

IMG_9198

On a journey back from London I needed to stretch my legs and take a quick break. As a member of the National Trust it didn’t cost me anything to go in and so I didn’t mind only stopping for a short while, but I could easily have spent a day, enjoying a picnic on the lawn and exploring some of the estate walks.

IMG_9194

A quick tour round the house offered me a brief history of the family who lived there and some stunning rooms with views across the South Downs.

IMG_9200

I had a wander round the gardens which surrounds the house which offered plenty of shady spots which would have been perfect for picnics. Since I didn’t have time to explore the wider estate, I grabbed an ice cream from the cafe and found a bench with a view and soaked up some sunshine.

fullsizeoutput_1666

With outdoor theatre, concerts and children’s trails, it’s a place you could easily come time and time again. Check out what’s coming up here.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

